I MINA'TRENTAI UNU NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2011 (FIRST) Regular Session

Resolution No. 20-31 (COR)

Introduced by:

R. J. Respicio
T. C. Ada
<u>Dennis G. Rodriguez, Jr.</u>
Judith P. Guthertz, DPA
V. Anthony Ada
F. F. Blas, Jr.
B. J.F. Cruz
Chris M. Duenas
Sam Mabini, Ph.D.
T. R. Muña Barnes
Adolpho B. Palacios, Sr.
v. c. pangelinan
M. Silva Taijeron
Aline A. Yamashita, Ph.D.
Judith T. Won Pat, Ed.D.

Relative to commending and congratulating the incoming Officers of the Filipino Community of Guam (FCG) for 2011–2012, and to recognizing these fine individuals for their unselfish love and devotion to the people of Guam, as evidenced by their willingness to serve in one of our island's major and longest running philanthropic, non-profit civic organizations.

1BE IT RESOLVED BY THE COMMITTEE ON RULES OF I2MINA'TRENTAI UNU NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN:

3 WHEREAS, the Filipino Community of Guam (FCG), one of our island's 4 major, long-standing, philanthropic, non-profit civic organizations, held its election of

officers on November 20, 2010, and upon certification of the results, proudly 1 2 announced the following individuals and the positions to which they were elected, 3 each Officer to serve a two (2) year term that commenced on January, 2011: President: Ms. Leah Beth Naholowaa: 4 • 5 1st Vice President: Mr. Roy Adonay; 2nd Vice President: Mr. William Dela Pena; 6 • 7 3rd Vice President: Ms Meilou Milligan; ٠ 8 Secretary: Ms. Anna Orbe; • 9 Assistant Secretary Luching Antenor Cruz; Treasurer Marites Valondo; 10 • 11 Assistant Treasurer: Ms. Sonya Sotelo; 12 ٠ Public Relations Officer: Mr. Mark A. Duarte; 13 Auditor: Mr. Fred Cantoria; 14 Peace Officer: Mr. Dan Romulo; and ٠ 15 Peace Officer: Mr. Pompeyo Barroga; and 16 WHEREAS, on Saturday, February 19, 2011, at the Sheraton Laguna Guam, 17 the FCG will be inducting these Officers to carry on its fifty-six (56) year mission of 18 fostering unity and close relationships among Filipinos on Guam and all the people of 19 Guam, preserving the cherished traditions of the Filipino people, recognizing the interdependence that exists between Guam's rich diversity of cultures, and actively 20

21 promoting civic, social and moral welfare for all of Guam's people; and

WHEREAS, the FCG is a non-profit organization, and is the umbrella organization to seventy (70) organizations consisting of several thousand Filipino-Americans, all of whom have chosen to make Guam their home, and are successfully contributing to our island community; and

WHEREAS, the current make-up of these Officers, who will serve a two (2) 1 vear term, which commenced in January, 2011, is truly impressive in that they bring 2 3 to this organization a combined wealth of key government, and private-sector experiences, undoubtedly affording the FCG continued success; and 4

5 WHEREAS, over the years, the FCG has played a key role in mobilizing 6 recovery efforts, raising significant amounts of money, and collecting items in support 7 of relief efforts for individuals living both here in Guam and abroad; and

8 WHEREAS, the Filipino Community of Guam, throughout its fifty-six (56) 9 years of existence, has contributed a countless number of times to improving the quality of life in Guam; and continues to foster camaraderie within its member 10 11 organizations, and to provide assistance to people in need in Guam and in the 12 Philippines due to unforeseen calamities, most recently assisting the survivors of the 13 Leyte Landslide; now, therefore, be it

14 RESOLVED, that the Committee on Rules of I Mina'Trentai Unu Na 15 Liheslaturan Guåhan does hereby, on behalf of I Liheslaturan Guåhan and the people of Guam, commend and congratulate the 2011-2012 FCG Officers on their induction, 16 namely President Leah Beth Naholowaa; 1st Vice President Roy Adonay; 2nd Vice 17 18 President William Dela Pena; 3rd Vice President Meilou Milligan; Secretary Anna Orbe; Assistant Secretary Luching Antenor Cruz; Treasurer Marites Valondo; 19 20 Assistant Treasurer Sonya Sotelo; Public Relations Officer Mark Duarte; Auditor Fred 21 Cantoria; and Peace Officers Dan Romulo and Pompeyo Barroga; and does further 22 recognize these fine individuals for their unselfish love and devotion to the people of 23 Guam, as evidenced by their willingness to serve in one of our island's major and 24 longest running philanthropic non-profit civic organizations; and be it further

25 **RESOLVED**, that the Speaker and the Chairperson of the Committee on Rules 26 certify, and the Legislative Secretary attest to, the adoption hereof, and that copies of 1 the same be thereafter transmitted to the 2011-2012 FCG Officers: Ms. Leah Beth 2 Naholowaa, President; Mr. Roy Adonay, 1st Vice President; Mr. William Dela Pena, 3 2nd Vice President; Ms Meilou Milligan, 3rd Vice President; Ms. Anna Orbe, Secretary; Ms. Luching Antenor Cruz, Assistant Secretary; Ms. Marites Valondo, 4 5 Treasurer; Ms. Sonya Sotelo, Assistant Treasurer; Mr. Mark A. Duarte, Public Relations Officer; Mr. Fred Cantoria, Auditor; and Mr. Dan Romulo and Mr. 6 Pompeyo Barroga, Peace Officers; and to the Honorable Edward J.B. Calvo, I 7 8 Maga'lahen Guåhan.

DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY THE COMMITTEE ON RULES OF *I MINA'TRENTAI UNU NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN* ON 18TH DAY OF FEBRUARY, 2011.

JUDITH T. WON PAT, Ed.D. Speaker

RORY J. RESPICIO Chairperson, Committee on Rules

TINA ROSE MUÑA BARNES Legislative Secretary



COMMITTEE ON RULES

I Mina'trentai Unu na Libeslaturan Guăban • 31st Guam Legislature www.guamlegislature.com • 155 Hesler Place, Hagătña, Guam 96910 www.roryforguam.com • email: roryforguam@gmail.com • Tel: (671)472-7679 • Fax: (671)472-3547

VOTE SHEET

Resolution No. 20-31 (COR) – R. J. Respicio T. C. Ada and Dennis G. Rodriguez, Jr.– "Relative to recognizing and congratulating the incoming Officers of the Filipino Community of Guam (FCG) for 2011–2012, and commending these fine individuals for their unselfish love and devotion to the people of Guam, as evidenced by their willingness to serve in one of our island's major and longest running philanthropic, non-profit civic organizations and to recognizing the Filipino Community of Guam on their 57th Anniversary."

SENATORS	DATE	SIGNATURE	TO ADOPT	TO NOT ADOPT	TO ABSTAIN	TO PLACE IN INACTIVE FILE
Senator Rory J. Respicio	2/18/11	No	Nor			20
Chairperson	allon	/				
Senator Judith P. Guthertz, DPA						FEB
Vice-Chairperson		6.				<u></u>
Speaker Judith T. Won Pat, Ed.D. Member	2/18/110	Bar	V			3
Vice Speaker Benjamin J.F. Cruz	· · ·					PH
Member						ų.
Legislative Secretary Tina Rose				***************		w)
Muña Barnes, Member						ωl'
Senator Thomas C. Ada	- 1	alan				
Member	218 11	And				
Senator Adolpho B. Palacios	1.0%	Aller				
Member	2/18/11	AMA				
Senator vicente c. pangelinan		//				
Member						
Senator Dennis G. Rodriguez, Jr.	Bai		1/			
Member	18/	. 4	0			
Senator Frank f. Blas, Jr.						
Minority Member				·		
Senator Chris Dueñas	2/18/11	d,				
Minority Member	- I'din	A T				
Alline Yamashitte Zils (1)						
For Spønsor's Office Use Only						
Sponsor Signature:						
Staff Contact Person:						
Date:						
For COR/Clerk's Office Use Only						
Certified Returned						
Name:					-	
Date:						
Notes:						